Location Location Sydney City Apartment Australia - NSW - Darlinghurst

Home

sleeps 4

bedrooms 2

bathrooms 2

Our family

2 Adults

Would love to visit

London, UK, Open to all destinations
Oct 1, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018

Exchange types

Home Exchange

Member number

AU00108712

Our two bedroom duplex apartment is located within a one minute walk of Hyde Park in central Sydney. It is a pleasant stroll across the park into the City, or facing the other way we have restaurants and night life. It is metro and therefore there is some buzz from outside, but inside you are insulated and comfortable.
We are 5 minutes walk to Museum station with direct link to the airport. There are easy bus and train connections to most places around Sydney as you would expect from the centre of town. However we prefer to walk whenever possible and if you like to walk, we are 35 minutes from the Opera House via the Botanic Gardens, 5 minutes from the City across Hyde Park, 10 minutes to Town Hall etc. Sydney is small enough to walk to most places of interest for the fit and healthy.
The block was designed by well known Sydney based architects and has featured in glossy books and mags. The style is minimalist, mildly industrial, and features Pirelli rubber floors, floor to ceiling cupboards, concrete and glass. Despite being more than 10 years old it is in original condition as this is the design one associates with the architects.
Consideration has been given to its green credentials and the apartment has no air conditioning or heating! It is designed for natural cooling by through flow ventilation, and solar passive warmth. The lounge room opens up with a double height wall of glass onto a modest balcony which faces north. This is the perfect orientation as we get direct sunlight until around 2pm but shade in the hot afternoon from larger buildings. In the summer the direct sunlight reaches only the balcony but in the winter when the sun is lower in the sky, it comes all the way in to the kitchen.
There is a simple configuration of front door into the sleek Miele kitchen, through into dining and lounge, and upstairs to main bedroom with white en suite bath/shower and large shuttered balcony, and mezzanine bedroom which utilises plantation shutters for privacy and is near the main (black) bathroom with huge rain shower. There is also a large office area which can be closed off behind bi-fold doors. In the basement we have a parking space which we don't use as we have no need for a car. Rentals nearby are very cheap and car share is right outside the front door. We have a small Weber BBQ on the lounge room balcony so you can char great food while sipping fine wine and checking the view across to Kings Cross.
Smoking is OK on the balcony too.
We keep our home meticulously clean and all linen and kitchen equipment is provided. There is a small TV, DVD and CD player.
Our immediate need is to stay in London for 5 to 10 days between 16th May and 28th May 2018. Our Sydney apartment is available from 12th May to 2nd June 2018. In the longer term London will always be in demand for family reasons. Otherwise we will consider other locations both city and rural which are interesting BUT we will follow the seasons as we prefer warm weather.
Our apartment is also available in October 2018 for a non-simultaneous swap for somewhere interesting with a warm climate.

Setting: Apartment / Main Residence, Urban

Entertainment: DVD, TV, Wireless Internet (WiFi)

Amenities: Balcony / Deck, Dishwasher, Clothes Washer, Clothes Dryer, Microwave Oven, Elevator Access, Parking included

Extras: Bakery, Corner Shop, Pharmacy, Supermarket

Leisure: Park / Playground, Cafés, Gym / Health Club, Restaurants, Shopping

Cultural: Concerts, Galleries, Museums, Opera, Popular Monuments, Theatre

Transport: Bus, Train Station, Tram, Underground Station

Conditions: Smoking Allowed, Car Exchange is not offered